Jyotish consultation

What is Jyotish?

Jyotish is the oldest system of astrology in the world. It’s derived from the Sanskrit word “jyoti” which means light. As the pure light of scientific knowledge, the word Jyotish implies studying a person’s character, health, habits and even the future on the basis of his or her birth chart.

What is medical astrology?

Since “Astrology (Jyotisha)” was a contemporary branch of Vedic Sciences as that of Ayurveda, there seems to have a great linkage between these two master pieces of ancient vedic sciences i.e. Ayurveda and Astrology. In the Veda’s (the holy scripts of the Hindu religion) we can find descriptions of the methods of Vedic astrology as well as ayurvedic healing. No one need be surprised at the relationship between the two

Medical astrology scientifically studies planetary movements and their effect on human constitutions and lives. Astrology is based on the concept that each planet is intrinsically related to a specific body tissue and that the various planetary movements and their positions in relation to time exert powerful influences on your mind, body and consciousness, directly affecting your physical and mental health.

There are Nine Planets (as per ancient literature in Jyotish), which has got a capacity to rule over our life. They are as follows:

  • Sun (Surya)
  • Mercury (Budha)
  • Moon (Chandra)
  • Jupiter (Guru)
  • Mars (Mangal)
  • Venus (Shukra)
  • Saturn (Shani)
  • Rahu
  • Ketu

They occupy different places in our Natal chart (Janma Kundali). According to their specific location in natal chart, they decide several factors with reference to our life viz. Our nature and behaviour (Swabhava and Prakruti), disorders (Roga/Vyadhi) etc. So by looking at ones natal chart one can predict several things with special reference to Ayurveda as well. Astrology also accepts the therapy of PANCHAMAHABHOOTAS. Therefore the Nine planets about whom we have discussed before can also be co-related with there five Basic Elelments and they are as follows:

Planets Panchabhautic Component
  • Sun – Fire (Teja)
  • Moon – Water (Jala)
  • Mars – Fire (Teja)
  • Mercury – Earth (Prithvi)
  • Jupiter – Space (Aakasha)
  • Venus – Water (Jala)
  • Saturn – Air (Vayu)
  • Rahu
  • Ketu